La vida de Annie

By Annie

Amarilis.

For Flower Friday, a quick EFB of the amaryllis flowering bulb I got from Lidl a while back, now so tall that it falls off the table unless leaning against some candlesticks. The only excitement today was going for a repeat blood test at the local medical centre, which was done painlessly despite my expression of abject fear, which made the nice nurse laugh. My fear of needles has escalated over the years, and with two jabs already this week I was somewhat tense. I remember an early blood test while expecting #1 child, some decades ago, performed by an elderly old fashioned “matron” style nurse in starched cap and cuffs, disapproving of my flinching from the huge thick needle. She fixed me with a steely gaze and said “come come, Mrs S, you’re a married woman!” I can’t imagine what she thought was worse than a needle in the arm, but I noticed she wore no wedding ring…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.