Meanwhile, at the coast..

By meancoast

To fritter, or not to fritter......

.....that is the question.....I added a load of just-the-petals (and probably some accidental, unsuspecting insect life for added protein) to some yorkshire pudding batter yesterday (verdict: not unpleasant, looked pretty, a slightly bitter tang....so more of a seasoning than a flavour really) and I was going to try the whole flower head in a thicker batter for lunch....except the firstborn has just rung me to tell me about some friends of hers who had exactly that as part of a, very expensive, tasting menu recently at a swish London restaurant and declared it 'disgusting'.....maybe I'll have fish finger sandwiches instead.......

In other gardening news: 4 rows of onions planted, seedlings watered, spud growing bags earthed up and a packet of wild garlic seeds ordered online (I'm planning on sowing them in the mint bed and letting them fight it out to the death)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.