LapsedCanon

By LooseCanon

Weeds

Some years ago, a solitary Cowslip appeared in the middle of my lawn. It looked so frail in this hostile environment that I decided to preserve it. So every time I mow the lawn I mow round it until it has set seed and the flower has died.

On some occasions I have miscalculated and mowed it or trodden on it but it is still flourishing and is beginning to multiply.

I think Jane thinks I'm mad - she thinks it is a weed. The definition of a weed is: A plant out of place not intentionally sown. I would quite like this area of our garden to become a wildflower meadow but I think they are quite hard to create.

Rather than use the obvious macro shot here I decided to use my widest lens to try and give this tiny plant a bit of stature. Trying to focus this through the viewfinder at ground level was not easy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.