Our City of Literature

By EdinCityofLit

I ran into Ian Rankin today!

Today during my break, I went to The Edinburgh Bookshop to pick up a beautiful edition of Ian Rankin's Black and Blue. While I was on my way, who did I run into but Mr. Rankin himself! We stopped and had a lovely little chat - he asked if I'd gone to pick up the book that I was on my way to get right then. :) He also told me he'd shown his American publisher around Edinburgh the day before and that today he was doing research in Edinburgh for his new book.

As a big fan of his, it was cool to hear that he was going around to the locations he'd feature in his new book to fact check. I then went over to The Edinburgh Bookshop; it was my first ever visit to the shop. It's such a great little indie bookshop. I'll definitely be going there again.

Along with the book - which he'd kindly signed - I also got some really cool postcards promoting his new book, Saints of the Shadow Bible, which brings back one of my favourite characters, Siobhan Clarke!
It's really cool to run into your favourite author in your favourite city and have a nice wee chat. Today's a good day.

- Stefani

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.