Melisseus

By Melisseus

Space Music

I know there are already a few good ones of this, and there will probably be more (and more impressive), but I was really pleased with this, on a machine I'm still a complete novice with (must read the manual somewhen). I guess this is beginner's luck, because it was on point-and-click settings in the briefest of glimpses between heavy cloud. This is straight off the camera, no post-processing, not even cropped. I like the colour in the cloud - probably just an artefact of all the light overloading the sensor :-), it reminds me of mother-of-pearl - and the wispy cloud in front of the sun giving it texture

Astronomical phenomena like this give me the closest thing to a numinous experience I'm likely to get. The sudden sense that moon, sun, earth, planets and the rest are not just two-dimensional disks decorating the sky, but really are spheres with depth and movement, drifting in void and vastness, voyaging through the cosmos across unimaginable time. For just an instant, the sheer improbability of it all, confronted with this demonstration of its reality, is overwhelming. My mind misses a beat and, in that silence, I'm left with just the word "why?"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.