Clear Seeing Place.

Pretty well every day, after lunch, i lay down on the bed in my office/studio for a bit of a read, to rest my back (especially after a couple hours of throwing pots) and then usually fall into a little nap.  It is a delightful ritual i have being doing now for about 10-12 years!   Usually i'm engrossed in a novel...which i usually call the upstairs book...i usually have another one by my bed.  

A few days ago i finished the 'upstairs' book.....didn't have time to get into the library - so picked up Clear Seeing Place, by Brian Rutenberg, which sits on my bookcase next to the bed!   I've read this book right thro twice now, and am onto the 3rd reading!  This time however, i'm just dipping in and out - rereading sections i have marked!   I realised today that i actually don't need an upstairs novel right now cos I'm psychologically preparing myself for the 4-5 months ahead when i get to give over to just being a painter, drawer...scribbler of marks!   As my need to do production starts to wind down, I am very aware of the internal shift that is taking place!   This is exciting to me.

By about the middle of November I will be done making pots - all the orders will be filled and there will be enough stock for the final Christmas show in Baddeck, 3rd December.   Then.....well lets just say anything is possible.

This quote by Friedrich Nietzsche sums up how i feel right now....

"The essence of all beautiful art, all great art, is gratitude."

I want all my paintings to come from that place of gratitude!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.