South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

In the Pink

The cherry trees in our road are beautiful at the moment and I think today may be the only sunny day before the rain and wind arrive so took the opportunity to blip them while I can! We were supposed to have sea mist today, but it didn't happen - not even down at the beach (my son walked down there this afternoon). I spent the morning starting to paint a new garden ornament. It's plain concrete and looked really unattractive I thought. I mixed some acrylics to use which included a new white paint that I bought from Hobbycraft the other week. My son said "What's that awful smell?" and hubby came into the room and threw the doors and windows open. The smell went all over the house and I started to feel dizzy and sick. I stopped using the paint and used some Windsor & Newton white paint instead. The feeling of sickness didn't go off for over an hour afterwards. I'm going to return the paint to Hobbycraft, I'm so glad I didn't use it at my Art class - goodness knows what's in it! Any of you who are artists and use acrylic - AVOID Crawford & Black white acrylic paint!!

This afternoon we worked in the garden - I was clearing loads of the wild onion plants - can't get the smell off my hands now!! Hubby got a lot of bushes cut back and cut the grass and edges. I put some washing out to dry for the first time this year as well! Read a book for a while after my labours. Hopefully going to have a Chinese meal this evening as they're usually open on Bank Holidays. Actually I'm getting really hungry, so I'd better go and phone the order through! What a lovely day it's been weatherwise - we've been so fortunate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.