Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

A wonderful cheery bright yellow box and a very kind gift from my thoughtful mum has arrived on the tenth anniversary of the second time I left my husband.
(My naked eye sees the box as a bright sunflower/school bus yellow, and not as a trendy acid greeny-yellow, though that's what my screen is telling me is what my camera has seen.
(Yet the writing on the card really is more greeny-yellow, like asparagus, and that tells me that my own eyes see a more diverse world)
It is also the feast of Ayios Dimitris – patron saint of Thessaloniki, and the birthday of my wife-in-law.
What is the correct term for a (former) spouse's previous wife? (Apart from friend, of course ;-)

This gift will help to remind me that there are some huge advantages to living in a place with better connections than a remote, but heartbreakingly beautiful, forested island in the Aegean.

Oh, and I also got my flu-jab

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.