Stuart Robertson

By StuartRobertson

Daff Burn - no. 2

As part of my Daff Burn Series, this is the second in the series. The weather has been overcast all day, so headed up to the burn.

The water was flowing faster after the heavy rain on Friday. I love this part of the burn, with the shape and flow, as it carves its way through the countryside. The trees that have been washed down the burn, show the power, and the greenery of the rocks covered in moss and the leaves hanging over the burn show nature taking its hold.

After taking this shot I tried to get to another part of the burn, but the banks were slippy after the rain. You guessed it, my footing went under me and I went down with a bang. My tripod took the brunt of my fall and got slightly damaged as I fell, with my camera ending up in the mud. Luckily the ground was soft and my camera survived. But while I was falling my camera bag had come off my shoulder, and in what seemed like slow motion I could see it bounce of the bank into the burn and make a splash. Amazingly it was floating and I have never moved so fast to grab it before it went down stream.

My Lowepro Camera bag was wet, but everything inside was still dry. At least I was fine and all my gear in the bag had survived. After cleaning the mud off my Olympus E3 and lens, this was fine as well. The only thing I lost was a lens cover.

Definitely a scary moment, but hopefully the picture was worth the effort.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.