Allotment 2022 onwards

By misetak

Saffron!

I ran away from the m****** for a bit this afternoon and spotted this before I got out of the car.  The first flower on my saffron crocus.
In other allotment news (clockwise from top left on the extra):
 - the nameless cockerel still settling in.
 - the saffron flower in situ before harvesting.  I spotted at least one other bud on the way.
 - yet more saffron found growing in the sink where my first failed corms were planted.  So maybe they weren't a complete failure, but they are very small and I need good light to distinguish the crocus shoots from the grass before weeding.
- the autumn planted chard are getting going in the cold frame.
- the autumn/winter lettuce are romping away in the polytunnel and need planting out very soon.
- yet more beans! Amazed these are still going at the end of October, no flowers left, but still some more smaller beans coming. So I may yet be picking the last of them in November.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.