The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Stepping down

Here is the long promised blip of Gus, looking his most soulful as he tries to convince me that he hasn't just had his muzzle in a flower pot eating soil.  In the extra he is tentatively stepping down to join me in the garden.

When I think back, he has been visibly stepping down for the last 5 years.  I first noticed it in 2017 when we were on Raasay and had climbed up Dun Caan, the flat-topped hill and high point of the island.  I wasn't at my best either as I was on watch and wait with leukaemia while the consultant judged the best time to start treatment.  For the first time, I saw that Gus was struggling a little on the steeper sections.

Since then there has been a gradual slowing down in his range and speed.  It's well over a year now since we last went up Arnside Knott together.  Fourteen months ago he was very poorly with gastroenteritis, and the vet told us he might live another three months.  Since then he hasn't been able to make it upstairs, his hips are too arthritic.  For the last six months he has been having monthly injections for his arthritis, and they do make a big difference to his mobility.  

For all his health challenges, he's still with us at seventeen years, and he's still a loving and contented dog.  He continues to enjoy three walks a day, albeit very short circuits from the house.  His appetite is good, and his coat is still beautiful.  Every day is a bonus for us all.

Back blipped on Thursday 27 October 2022.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.