Border Tails

By Swannie

Autumn walk

After my four hour shift on Wednesday, I was given the news that due to the lab’s current difficulties, they had lost a few clients and now there are fewer pick ups for us drivers, so instead of working Thursday and Friday this week, they have asked me to do Sunday instead. I have been assured that, although I will actually do less than ten hours this week, I’ll get paid for twenty two and a half. Seems like a good deal and great for easing myself back in gently.

I got a text today asking me to leave the van at the lab after I finish on Sunday so that it can be used to take samples down south as it’s one of the newer ones. I decided to take it up this afternoon and drop it as the forecast doesn’t look great for Sunday.

I spoke to some of the lab staff who were outside on a break and my heart breaks for them. Fourteen analysts, a supervisor, the only cleaner and the QC technician are all to be made redundant and talks start next week. Not a great thing at any time, but this close to Christmas it’s devastating. I have been assured that all drivers’ jobs are safe, for the moment, because we are employed, not by the lab, but by Logistics and we are on a separate budget.

The blip is a quick iPhone shot I took on the footpath between the lab and the railway station on my way home.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.