Margie with Covid

Margie felt well enough for a FaceTime call today, and I wanted to see and feel her energy, not just her words in a text or a phone call: and she’s doing really well! The vaccines and the Paxlovid are working. Two years ago this would have killed her, as it did so many others. Now she has Covid, and so does her daughter, who lives separately but nearby and does so much for Margie daily. But they're both managing.

She says, “I feel lousy. I say to the universe, ‘alright already, it’s time for me to go,’ but I’m so damn healthy I can’t turn the engine off. I’m not in charge.” Her sense of humor is intact. Her outrage is intact. 

“I read the New York Times, and I feel connected with the world, and sometimes I sit here and shake my fist and say ‘Fuck you’ to all the billionaires who are wrecking this place for everybody, flirting with nuclear war, and causing so much pain and suffering. But then I think I’ve done all I can for the world, and I lie back in my chair and wait for the hummingbird that comes daily to my feeder.” 

I tell her that as long as her engine is running, I’ll keep showing up to enjoy the ride. 

I made this photo of my computer screen as we talked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.