Windmill 'De Bijenkorf', Maurik

'Bijenkorf' = 'Baai-un-korf' = 'beehive'.  Its original name was 'De Hoop'.
'Maurik' = 'MAUW-rik'

Micky had texted me early last week to ask if she could visit me this week.  I said 'Sure!'  Then two days' silence.  Then I asked her what day she was coming over.  She said she had to arrange a visit to her son and wanted to see her grandbaby, and I said that that was more important.  Then silence again.  Earlier this week, I asked again what day she was coming, and it took her some time to reply.  Finally, she asked if she could come on Friday, which was today.  No problem!  Then, at the upteenth minute, she texted to say that she was developing a migraine and could not possibly drive in that condition.  As I already knew this was on the cards, I simply wished her better health and better luck next time.  I had been looking forward to it because we've hardly seen each other since I left Rotterdam, except for my occasional visit to her house, and I'm genuinely concerned and also feeling a bit bad because I can't really help her.  But okay... that is Micky. Her migraine just won't go away.  I'm not one to tell her what to do.

Her not showing up freed my afternoon for other activities.  Logically.  :D))

No Friday evening live bridge at Sweed's and Benna's... because it has been moved to tomorrow evening!  With dinner!  

In the meantime, the trees directly next to this windmill might express how I feel about my hair at the moment, although I must confess mine is more neatly 'brushed' than they are.  I met the owner, who is as well the owner of the B&B and tea shop (you can see the entrance), which has been closed for the season and will reopen again sometime in April next year.  She was just pulling into her parking spot when I was done with my photos.  I told her it was a bit regretful that I could not get a better view of the mill because of the trees.  She said she would love to trim them, but they were planted by her next-door neighbour when this neighbour was still a child, and this neighbour had requested her not to have them cut down because they remind her of her happy childhood.  This neighbour is now in her 80s and the tea shop owner is simply humouring her... and patiently biding her time.  The tea shop owner's husband is the miller.  All very convenient!  Unfortunately for the mill, the trees obscure the view and make turning the vanes problematic.  Geeezzz...

Genealogy was the main evening activity.  I never run out of stuff, and finally caught up with yesterday's post as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.