Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Use your loaf

I noticed a recipe for seeded cheddar and potato bread in one of the supermarket advertising papers last week and thought it sounded good.  I had every intention of making it according to the recipe, including all the mixing, kneading, rising, knocking back, kneading and rising again that bread needs.  But then we decided we needed to go out so I just bunged everything into the bread machine and hoped for the best.

I expected a brick.  Truth be told, it's sort of brick shaped, but when I looked at the photo next to the recipe it wasn't exactly well risen anyway.  The truth, as they say, is in the eating.  And absolutely delicious it is too!  A little bit dark around the edges but I don't mind that and of course, a chef never burns something, it's just 'caramelised'.  May be a keeper, but I might try it the way the recipe suggests next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.