Reconnecting

By EcoShutterBug

Rubber ball

My right hand has a new friend. He’s a bit red, but he’s a real softie.

He brings to mind the chorus of a pop song from my youth - “Red Rubber Ball”, by The Cyrkle, which went:

And I think it's gonna be all right
Yeah, the worst is over now
The mornin' sun is shinin' like a red rubber ball
 
A year ago two Stafford Terriers (unleashed) streaked across a public park and attacked my son’s dog, “Dash”, who I was walking on a leash. In yanking Dash up and away from the mongrels’ teeth, I damaged my right shoulder rotator cuff. Also surprising, the (unleashed) owner of the terriers went ballistic at me - it was somehow Dash’s fault!  An operation to repair my shoulder finally happened three weeks ago. I have another month or so in this sling until I can move it to build up the shoulder muscles again.

It's a struggle to use a DSLR camera, unless on a table, or with help from Saint Fiona (occasionally leashed). Single and left-hand operation of a cellphone is slow and driving me nuts.  On the bright side, I’m learning to love my cellphone camera, and bondage seemed to suggest an appropriate image for today’s Derelict Sunday.

In the meantime, I have changed my Avatar to depict my current trussed-up state. Afterall, this is the most common view in my day at the moment.

My previous Avatar may not have meant much to you, but still freaks me when I am lying about outside with my camera. The photo was of a New Zealand sealion that charged at me one dawn last year when I was lying on the bank of Te Hakapupu estuary to photograph geese. You can check out the other photos and ensuing games here. If you click on the images, the story pops up.

PS. “Red Rubber Ball” is a Breaking-up song, but so far there is no scientific evidence that Fiona is about to leave me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.