Exploring Cape Elizabeth

I went in search of the grave of Nathaniel Dyer's father, Christopher.  I know he is buried in the Mt. Pleasant Cemetery in Cape Elizabeth, a part of Portland and where the Dyers first settled when coming to Maine in the early 1700's.  I was unable to find his stone but I did find the stone of his brother Joshua and his wife, lower right.  I am not sure how Ephraim and Elizabeth Dyer fit in, that will take more research.  Dyer is a very common name in Maine, most related in some way.  But I found this stone fascinating.  Three of their daughters and one son all died in 1848 at young ages.  That I just had to find out about.  I descovered that there was a major Cholera epidemic in Maine in the 1840's so it is fairly safe to assume they all succumbed to that disease.  How horrible for the parents!  My cousins accompanied me and after visiting the cemetery, we had lunch overlooking Casco Bay.  I had a clear view of Nathaniel's house.  I've put it in the extra.  I highlighted a square around it so you can see his brick house which overlooked his shipbuilding business.  Then it was on to Fort William Park and the Portland Head Light.  It is the first lighthouse commission by the new United States in 1789 by President George Washington.  It was completed in 1791. (extra) A glorious autumn day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.