Apples

After a tiring and slightly stressful week, I had the long and deep sleep that I needed, waking at 08:30 which, to my body was 09:30. I walked Django to see Mum, who was surprised to see me, since she'd thought I was going away for a week. Django and I then continued along the old railway to Roslin. There are still some fine autumn colours around the gunpowder mills, where the races are full of golden fallen leaves (see extra). As we reached Roslin the rain came on, so I was glad to get a bus back to Penicuik. 

Having defrosted the freezer overnight, after lunch I used the apple peeling-coring-slicing machine to process about a hundred apples from our tree, filling a freezer draw with sliced apples, and making three tubs of apple purée. Sadly, that only used about 10% of what our tree has produced, but it's better than nothing! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.