Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Interim peace

It was actually quite benign and bright when I first opened the door this morning - even a touch of sun on the hills - and when my friend picked me up for Pilates I was able to wait for her in my ludicrous leggings and a gilet without being rained on. It didn't last - when I left her just over an hour later after class I got wet just bashing along the lane to the house. My main preoccupation today, however, has been the weather forecast for Wednesday, the day on which three of us had intended heading for Lewis on the teatime ferry. It looks very much as if the ferry isn't going to be able to sail, as the dreaded "black gusts" (the strong winds denoted by the BBC app as black circled wind speeds) are in place for just when we need them not to be. 

After Pilates, at which my grunting was making people laugh inappropriately, I subsided with the Sunday papers till Himself came home from his class for lunch. I'd had to make bread today with a strange mixture of flours, including some oat flour, so the resulting loaf was oddly shaped but rather delicious. Duolingo was offline for several frustrating hours, so instead I went out for the odd thing and then did a quick burst of domestic goddessing and prepared a lamb casserole for dinner. I used to make casseroles all the time, and eat them two days in a row in our early life together; now I'm aware of many of my meals being of the kind you make just before you eat - I think I may try to return to the old days. My mother would approve...

Now at bedtime my legs are aching - Pilates or not having a walk? - and the dreich afternoon and early dark have lowered my early cheerfulness into the pit of autumnal gloom. And tomorrow we'll have to decide about that ferry ...

Blipping the view of the Holy Loch from my pal's car as we whizzed along the shore road to the Pilates class. The ship at anchor to the left is the Hebridean Princess; there is a former Western Ferries ship that is now a diving platform and a current but spare-at-this-time-of-day Western Ferries boat tied up at Kilmun Pier. And I'm adding an extra of a massive outbreak of toadstools in the middle of Dunoon, where anyone seeing me photographing may have thought me mad...

Don't say it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.