Race Face

Katie at the new pump track (i.e. very small BMX track) at Lochend Woods. We were on our way to the swimming pool, but didn't make it! This was great fun, the boys were pretty cool about it but Katie got right into it, her jacket came off, she pushed her bike up to the start again and again, she was determined to complete the loop clean. And then the Race Face came on - looking ahead, teeth clenched, white knuckles... I bought her those tights yesterday. Look at the state of them!

That's My Girl! :)

Duncan had ridden the BMX and had a good spin, poor Gordon had fallen off in the street before we even left the house and gashed his hand, but he had a good go at it too. Malcolm was there first and didn't seem too interested and I felt bad that he didn't get into the pool - I actually apologised to him since he'd been excited and I hate them to be disappointed. But at bedtime he told me what a great day he'd had and how much he enjoyed the pump track. So, all's well :)

Here's a set on Flickr with all the children having fun!

I really noticed that Dunbar is becoming a cycling town today. We've always cycled, but today loads of families were out enjoying the balmy Bank Holiday and taking advantage of the growing network of safe cycle paths. However...

I experienced my first "cycling backlash" encounter on the way home. The path from Belhaven to West Barns has been surfaced with funding from various sustainable transport bodies in the UK and Europe, which is brilliant for my little ones because it gives us a safe and fun route home. There were dog walkers out as usual, so I made sure to tell Gordon to trill his bell and give them space. He rode ahead and I watched astonished as the women looked at him and then walked abreast across the path. Gordon is 7 years old. They were about 50.

When Katie and I got to them, thinking bad things but being polite, one of them was shaking her head and tutting. So, I stopped. Quite suddenly. "What? Hmm? What?"

"Well, I've been walking here for 20 years and now we have these bikes."

"Mm, hmm."

" - I mean, not you but... Well, we're supposed to get out of THEIR way!"

"Mm, hmm."

I was so stunned, I didn't have the wit to say, "and my children finally have a safe route home, but since you are so very inconvenienced I'll ensure they use the deadly road instead," so I just rode away. Utter, utter... It really made me think. I guess I'll be more proactive in the local cycling lobby. These selfish NIMBYs will definitely be vocal so I have to protect what's good for me & mine.

Other than that, a wonderful long weekend with my treasures :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.