Kitchen Cabinet

We've been given this wonderful 1960s kitchen cabinet by a retired couple in the village. It's been in their shed for years, Jimmy has been keeping his paint tins in it! I expressed an interest in it because of the glass in the doors. They are patterned with a selection of little sailing boats, which I thought Himself would like. Before Jimmy knew what was happening his wife was offering us the cabinet and he was storing his paint cans elsewhere!

We have been thinking to do it up and have it in the new bathroom for storage, but it is going to need more than a quick rub down and repaint to get it fit for that. Armed with a bucket of hot water and some sugar soap I made a start today, but I hardly made any headway at all! Something to do with it being decidedly chilly and my hands going numb with cold, I fancy! Note that I had Lucas helping me, Ollie was paddling about on the shore, just out of shot . . .

Inside all its drawers and the shelves have got several layers of fablon or similar sticky backed plastic stuck on them. The underneath ones are multi-colourful 60s patterns like those I remember from my childhood! I shall have another go at it on a better day, when I am feeling full of energy and the sun is shining. It would be such a shame not to bring it back to something like its glory and find a good use for it, if not in the bathroom then somewhere about the place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.