An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Starfish In the Night-sky!

Is it just me or can anyone else see the starfish shape that these young willow trees create, as they rush up towards the stars?

Following the predominant green/lime green theme from yesterday's River Avon blip (another spotlight hit - thanks to all), I wanted to make use of the clear and still night as windier and wetter weather is forecast here by this time tomorrow.

This small copse of willow were lit by a white-light streetlight just to one side - I can't now say from which side it was as I have flipped the canvas, purely as I thought it looked better. The camera was lying on its back on the ground and so I had no idea what was being included. This is one of three tried.

The greens are as they were from the RAW but to emphasise the sky I turned the much darker blue-black into something much bluer and shadow enhancement has evened out the very variable lighting - it has lost a bit of its original character and I'm not sure if it's exactly as I like it best but doing more will not improve it any more. The stars have not trailed during the 30 sec exposure, due to the very wide angle of the Nikkor 10-24mm, here at 12mm (eqv. to 18mm in 35mm terms.), in effect making them look much smaller and further away.

Check it out in LARGE

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.