The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

An Obtuse Tale

I love diners. Ever since the first time I stepped foot into the Chef's DIner in Watkins Glen, NY, I knew there was something special about restaurants that loved families and served the kind of home cooking that my mom rarely made. (Read here: Fried Chicken.)

My early days were filled with diners that had quirky names. The Red Oak, The Spot, The Park Diner, Dobb's, The Roscoe Diner, and The Red Robin (not the chain), gave way to The Glen Oak, and ultimately, to The Triangle DIner.

Keep in mind that I have skipped several diners that I never patronized, or ones that just never "did it" for me. (I have been to Tick-Tock and it didn't set off my alarm.)

This afternoon, I decided to make a Chicken Caesar Salad for dinner. Spring has arrived, and our palates are craving lighter fare. Traditionally, croutons are a major part of Caesar Salads, but after having The Triangle DIner's version, our entire family insisted that I make the switch.

Nadia and Art are the proprietors of the Triangle. This is an old-fashioned place, with a counter and stools, booths, and a few tables thrown here and there. It is located at the intersection of three streets, and built on a triangular piece of land.

The food is really "yummy," which is why Nadia wears a pink hat embroidered with her favorite phrase, "It's Yummy Time!" It's an eclectic place, with mismatching dinner ware, cool mugs, and the best New England Clam Chowder I have ever tasted. (I have had to edit this twice now, as I forgot to mention that when Nadia brings your food to the table, she declares, "It's yummy time!")

When the owners found out that I was Armenian, my family was given top priority each time we visited, for Nadia is Armenian too! Her creative and thrifty use of leftover bagels as croutons was a delicious shock to my taste buds, and I have made them ever since.

Who would ever think that cinnamon raisin, along with some pumpernickel, sesame, and whatever didn't sell yesterday bagels, would taste so well together in a garlicky salad?

Obviously, Nadia did.

Now, anyone who has this salad at our home is surprised, then gets a big smile on their face.

Croutons from heaven.

Courtesy of the Triangle DIner, Hawthorne, New Jersey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.