Thurgoland village crossroads

I made a start on gathering files together for the November edition of the village newsletter and then somehow managed to lose them all!  Fortunately Avril had kept her set together, so she was able to send them to me again.  If I wasn't very with-it on Monday afternoon I was even less with it on Tuesday morning (usually I'm good on a morning).  Among the files she'd sent was a 1930's photo of this same scene which showed drifts or piles of snow as high as the men who were trying to clear it.  I decided I'd have a quick trip out to take a similar photo which I thought might help to blow away a few cobwebs in my head!  I think it did.  Remarkably, there are very few changes to this scene 89 years later, well apart from the weather.  Thanks to Maurice, our village archivist,, for sending the original photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.