Today is Damp

Well, it certainly took some adjusting to.  Wednesday had previously never been a dancing day.  But today a new dancing / glee club opened in the Kirkwall Town Hall.  I have come to the conclusion that the part I enjoy most is being ‘coaxed’ onto the dance floor.  I was unaccompanied for the first half as CMC was away to visit her Aunty.  Nobody needs to know this, but you can’t look away.  The underpinning idea initially is to teach folk dances that would normally turn up at Orkney ceilidhs / Harvest Homes etc.  Today this included: The Festival Glide, Trip to Bavaria, Jacqueline Cha Cha, Melody Quickstep, Fiona’s Polka, White Heather Foxtrot.  Frances turned up slightly late as she’d been for a medical; she was late at the GP’s and was therefore refused.  I did the gentlemanly thing and (after removing my hat and standing up) I offered to give her a medical there and then.  We could easily have made some rude screens.  But not the time, or materials, to make a rood screen.  During a tango I met a lapsed Blipper who stays in Deerness – I think, with a little encouragement, she’ll start again. Someone had the temerity to ask me if I was doing a Mikhail Gorbachev tribute.  After an incident last weekend I am sporting a red scar on my heid.  It was painful with much blood.  All Nurse Creel would comment about was the amount of sawdust that came out.
 
Who said the art of the paragraph was deid ?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.