jac1954

By jac1954

This is Mary-Ellen.

When I went to see my Bees in the field I noticed this very small chicken. And asked about it from the owner of the field. He said their was two of them they were dumped 3 days ago now only this one. There are foxes living around the 4 acres.
He said take it home with you Jacqui well I have 3 cats plus few strays wondering around so not good idea and have nothing to put her in.
Also bird flu is around Essex where I live.
So I took pictures of her and sent them to the bird sanctuary in Brantham. To me it looked well no discharge or purple on its face. Just very untidy feathers.
She phoned me and said if I am able to bring her along they can put her in quarantine. So that’s what I did.
On arrival she said it was a young Bantam cross Fizzle. She said she looks fine. If she had bird flu she would’ve died in three days so that’s a good sign.
Couple of days went by and I asked about her she said a man down the road keeps Bantam so he said he would take her when out of quarantine. Gill said he has had a look at here and said it’s a he and so Mary is a cockerel. They found it has nurological problems but he took him so I am glad.
Even though I got lost finding the place lol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.