Lid

Rant alert
This morning I was trying to dispose of a plastic lid from a glass jar ( mustard as it happens ). As a good conscientious householder I want to know where we should put it. Can it go with the rest of the recycling? As most people know plastics have a little recycling symbol stamped on them with a number to tell you what it’s made of, in this case a barely visible number 5. Polypropylene I believe.
I rang our local council and spoke to option number two the man who is supposed to know all about recycling and what goes where.
He knew nothing about the codes and said he’d never heard of them. 
I was speechless. 
I think that:
Companies should not use packaging materials which cannot easily be recycled. 
I personally should not buy products with containers which cannot easily be recycled, but I need the information.
Shops should refuse to stock items with packaging which cannot easily be recycled 
Labelling should be clearer
Local government officers with responsibility for recycling should receive better training
None of this will happen without government action so perhaps one of our many ex Prime Ministers and cabinet members currently kicking their heels on the back benches could start thinking about a Private Member's bill which could address the whole issue of packaging and actually do some good for once, to repent for the mess we’re in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.