Think, try, share

By JonBusby

Pop up studio

This is my two light pop up portrait studio.

The style is deliberately guerilla so that I am mobile and can set up really fast, more or less anywhere.

I reckon you could get most of what is here (excl the Nikon) for less than £200.

I am a huge fan of the Yongnuo 560II flash. It is sitting next to a Nikon SB600 which I have had for years. Nothing wrong with the Nikon...but the Yongnuo is my strobe of choice and a quarter of the price you'd pay for the Nikon.

The camera is the old D40. It's coming to the end of the line for me. Kind of sad that as I have learnt so much with her.

The Nikon D7100 commands a lot of my thoughts at the moment.

On the Nikon is a f1.8 35mm prime. The other lens is a Sigma 17-70mm f2.8-4.0, my favourite lens at the moment.

The light stands cost about £15 each off Amazon. Manfroto do some beautiful compact stands for about £45. These cheapos do the job for me for now.

The shoot through brolly was a tenner and the reflector brolly is a Westcott approximately £23.

The wireless triggers were about £30. Yongnuo do some really good triggers too. You could go and fork out a mint on Pocket Wizard triggers but I'd rather learn my technique in the bargain basement.

All of this I have built myself and I am pretty much self taught. Yes it can be done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.