When Heaven and Earth Changed Places

The other inspirational woman that I feel privileged to have met is Le Ly Hayslip. I can still remember seeing the poster for Oliver Stone's movie Heaven and Earth at a cinema in Carmarthen. I had a feeling the movie would have a significant impact on me, but I never guessed how much. After reading Le Ly's two autobiographies, When Heaven and Earth Changed Places and Child of War, Woman of Peace, I ran my first marathon and swam two kilometers at a pool to raise money for her charity, East Meets West Foundation. A few years later I travelled to Vietnam to meet the child I sponsored at her orphanage in DaNang, and I also met Le Ly's mother and Hiep Thi Ly, the actress who played Le Ly in Heaven and Earth .

Soon after arriving in Japan I received a letter from Le Ly Hayslip informing me that she was visiting a hospital in Japan and suggesting we meet. Of course, I jumped at the opportunity. A truly remarkable woman who, along with Lena Maria and Christina Noble, form my personal triumvirate of inspirational women.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.