Seth Lakeman....

.....@45Live in Kidderminster

I rushed home from work then onto the gig, even though we were quite late arriving there we still managed to get on the front row.

Two one hour sets from the folk rock master got our heads boppin’ and feet stomping.

He puts so much energy into his performance and you can tell he still loves pleasing the audience with tracks he must have played hundreds if not thousands of times before.

It’s the first time I’ve been to this nice little venue that opened just last year. It’s only about 20 minutes from my house so hopefully there will be some more acts I’m interested in, in the not too distant future.

In other venue related news, the Wolverhampton Civic Hall is re-opening next year after a 7 year refurbishment that went from a cost of £10m to £50m…..pretty disgraceful from all those involved. Apparently Asbestos was to blame.

Since I was about 15 I’ve been going to gigs there, I’ve seen the likes of Foo Fighters, Soundgarden, Faith No More, Audioslave, Reef, Black Crowes, Stone Roses, Skunk Anansie, Hole, L7, Green Day, Smashing Pumpkins, White Stripes, Feeder, Robert Plant….the list goes on and on.

When I was in my late teens/early twenties I was going there once a week, sometimes more. The good thing back then was the price, many of the big names I just mentioned I saw for less than a tenner.

Most importantly I met my lovely Claire there, ten years ago.

Mr Bo Hingles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.