Theleens

By Theleens

Sakura Matsuri - Cherry Blossom Festival

Prior to Mill River Park's official opening to the public on May 2nd, some guests were invited along for a sneak preview. Once Milton Puryear took us through all the initiatives and details of what went into the park to help restore its natural habitat. I knew I wanted to be a part of this. So, I was put in touch with a lovely guy called Al, who chatted to me about how I can be of use. The first date was set for May 5th at the Sakura Matsuri - Cherry Blossom Festival. I was to be a helper.

I duly arrived at 10am on a very sunny day but reluctantly embracing a bitingly cold wind that would often kick up its heels. We set up the stalls and I asked which one they needed me to tend to. The Origami stall.

Interesting, I haven't done Origami since I was a kid sitting at the top of the stairs reading these big encyclopedia sets in which was a whole section was devoted to origami. That was a good summer.

Anyways, we had to get out the paper and the instructions and start making some for the kids. This blip shows my attempt. The Japanese gentleman, who helped me, had the patience of a saint.

There is a great satisfaction felt when making something with your hands, and that feeling of going into a trance-like state in which you forget everything around you and are totally immersed in the project at hand.

The festival was a great success and I met some really lovely people. As a volunteer, I had to wear a t-shirt. Very chuffed indeed ?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.