Glimpses of Me

By mimi128

The People of Walsall Wood

This is one of four separate monuments of Walsall Wood, designed and built by Luke Perry and his team. Based on real Walsall Wood residents, the monument comprises of 22 people and a dog -- Scruff, all of which have been engraved. Each of the figures has the story or memory of one of the local townsfolk, symbolising their enduring sense of community, cut into the steel, this exposes the copper layer below. All three layers of metal are riveted together to maintain a structural strength and visual stability. In one of the figure is engraved:

They had a fancy dress parade when I was a kid and everyone joined in except me. I remember goin cryin down the yard cus I didn't have no costume or nothin. So me dad kept fowl, we all did in them days, he ran down the garden, fetched the straw from the floor of the pen and stuffed it down me neck and up me trousers.

Another says:

A pet shop in the high street had a monkey in a cage, it was a big un an all. Me nephew once tormented him with a chip, the monkey catched ode of his hair, pulled his head through the bars. He never done that again.

Another of the four monuments is The Miner and Whippet Dog which is a tribute to the people who risked life and limb, going underground to mine the coal.

Still a wonderful weather today, so when the big boys get a break from their carpentry work, we might have a barbecue, yey!! I think tomorrow's weather is not going to be as amazing as it was these past few days, oh well, can't be too greedy can we.. LOL Will be heading back to South Yorkshire tomorrow anyway..

Hope everyone has a great week ahead of them!

P.S.
Thank you all so much for the wonderful comments and praises and stars on my entries, so very grateful.. Such amazing people I've gotten to 'know'! I might be behind in all my responses (and comments) but please know they are all very much appreciated! Will get back to you soon, so please do bear with me..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.