Female Goosanders

A visit to the Heritage Park this morning. When I arrived the swan family was snoozing on the slipway. I went into the cafe for a take away coffee and when I came out the swans had moved and were down at the end of the loch nearest to the car park.
I watched them for a moment or two and then I was aware that they were lining up and suitably distanced from each other .... then there was an incredible noise of flapping wings and they were off, keeping a foot or two off the surface of the loch as they headed up to the far end. A fabulous photo opportunity but my camera had switched off automatically and when I just couldn't get it on and adjusted in time so no pic today. I think they fly between 10 and half past so I will try to catch them in flight next week.

I continued with my walk, not in the best of spirits having missed the swans. I spotted the Little Grebes again but they were much too far away for any decent shot. Then I saw the two female Goosanders cruising along and my camera was ready this time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.