Visiting friends in Camberley Day 1

An early start then I walked into Camberley for my first visit. I was going to see friends C and R. It was lovely to see them and we caught up on what had been going on since I last saw them. After that I stopped into my old art group, still going strong! A few of the group were still the same and it was lovely to see them all. I then had lunch with one friend who had left the group but also joined us today. After lunch I visited the shops. So sad to see how many are now either charity shops, Pound/cheap clothes shops, or food outlets.
After that I met up with my Camberley Bookclub friends. We had managed to arrange a meeting while I was around and it was so nice to see everyone. We were discussing Mr Wilder and Me by Jonathon Coe. This really was a book of two halves. It is the true story of Billy Wilder the Director woven around a fictional meeting and friendship (and it was just a friendship) with a Greek girl/woman. I loved the true part, but most of the fictional part did nothing to add to the book in my view. As ever, that didn’t stop us having a good chat.
My final event was a curry dinner. I took my hosts out for a curry. You can’t get curry very easily in Sedbergh so this was my meal of choice.
A great first day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.