One Day Leads Into The Next.

Looking back on today, this has been an event packed day which finished when I fell into bed tomorrow.

I dropped Pat off in Rutland Square to attend her Life Drawing Class at the Scottish Arts Club and then drove to the Royal Botanical Gardens.

Before starting my walk around the gardens I fuelled up with a Mocha and a Chocolate Brownie. While waiting for my order two Edinburgh Ladies we’re having an earnest argument about which treat to have with their coffees. One was a Chocolate Brownie and the other was intent on something else. Eventually the non chocolate apologised to me having to overhear their argument and handed me her tray as she noticed I did not have one. A tray for a coffee and a plate? The Chocolate Brownie supporter just smiled sweetly. 
‘I do like starting arguments with her.’

After I had enjoyed my treats I came across in the garden arguing over Billy Connolly.

How do Americans understand him? 

I explained my wife is American and when we attended a Billy Connolly Evening in Edinburgh I was her translator in the Scots language. Pat thoroughly enjoyed the evening. I did remark that I thought some of the Edinburgh Ladies surrounding had difficulty in understanding Glaswegian.

I walked around the gardens managing some 15000 steps during my walk. The Christmas illuminations are being set up and the various look very interesting.

I met up with Pat and we headed off for lunch at IKEA. After lunch we took a walk throughout the store. IKEA is always interesting as is their displays.

There is a great emphasis on recycling, including built up furniture.

In the evening we had dinner with Euan and Sophie who had married a year ago. Euan is our godson. They have moved into their new house in a development on the banks of the Water of Leith.

They are very happy in their new house. It is certainly well specified and finished. The form of the blocks form the perimeter of a large communal garden. Pat and I liked it a lot.

By the time we had enjoyed our meal and caught up on everyone’s adventures, it was time to head home.

By the time I was in bed it was Friday. Today’s Blipfoto is the interesting trunk of a Sweet Chestnut. The extra shows the leaf.

I

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.