A day of contrasts

This was the glorious first half (although I was battling a headwind) with my first hill in the background.  The second half changed unexpectedly and dramatically as a vast black cloud loomed over the horizon on the top of Malham Moor.  Exceptionally luckily, the epicentre was ahead of me and I stood at the top of the descent and thanked my lucky stars as it obscured the view into Malham and drifted off.

I then came to the bit of road that I was hoping wasn't flooded - but it was.  There was a car pondering what to do on the other side of the 20 metre stretch with the passenger out of the car inspecting - so I got straight in and showed them how it was done! Unfortunately, I needed a couple of pedal turns in the middle but I came out of the other side unscathed and just a little bit damp. The people were most glad of my demonstration and we went on our ways laughing.  I was caught further by the edge of another heavy downpour but spent most of my time in the rainbow on the edge of it.

I'm glad I wore my full winter kit - it was its first outing this season and I'm also glad I hadn't checked the satellite forecast because if I'd seen those storm clouds, I may well have changed my plan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.