It isn't easy seeing green

I was tipped off that these green hairstreak butterflies were on the wing by Andy, the long suffering guy who ID's my unknown birds when I'm struggling. Apart from having a shortish season and a very specific heath / moorland habitat, they are hellishly difficult to spot, being very small and well camouflaged amongst the bilberry leaves. So after a few jobs that needed doing, I went out to the moorland fringe in the hope of spotting them. I did a circuit and apart from a brown hare, lots of baby bunnies I saw lots of meadow pipits, grouse, curlew, lapwing, a couple of wheatear, golden plover and a siskin, but no butterflies. As I got back to the car and changed out of my boots, I decided to have another quick look at the start of the walk and hey presto, my green hairstreak. I think they are a stunningly beautiful creature, so I was delighted to get a shot. First proper outing of the year for the macro lens too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.