Tree Sparrow

Okay, I know this is technically an awful photo, taken from my chair at the dining table, thus through four layers of glass and with reflection inside the sunroom - oh! how I wish we had attended to that possibility before signing off the build - but I am chuffed to bits to see this little bird on the feeder.

We had them in the garden way back in 2010 and again in 2011 but over the years sightings have been reduced to nil. Nothing to report on the RSPB Bird Watch - this refers also to several other species that were once regular visitors, though we had four goldfinches on the feeder two days ago, and, a few days before that, a male chaffinch, quite a surprise.

But a day or so ago I thought I had seen a couple of birds 'a bit different' on the feeder, concluded they were dunnock, as they flew into the hedge, where these live. Today I grabbed binoculars and can confirm the Return of the Tree Sparrow! 

Whatever the reason that they came, they are most welcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.