Melisseus

By Melisseus

Cracks in the Union

Tonight I'm full of questions

In a remote corner of Mull, someone decided their house needed iron railings. They were inspired to include motifs in the ironwork: this one, a red rose, green shamrock and a yellow daffodil. Steadfast commitment to the Union; no SNP here, one assumes

Strange that we have these botanical national emblems; I wonder who decreed that these should be the ones? Where does the leek fit in, I wonder? Has England always had the rose, or only since the hegemony of York and Lancaster? Did the broom hold sway during all those Plantagenet centuries?

What would the owner of the iron bars do if Scotland became independent? Keep them as a record of an age past, like a VR post box? Why do I find myself excited by the idea of Scottish independence, when Britain's self-exclusion from political and economic union with Europe has been such a self-evident catastrophe? Do I lack integrity?

Too tired to come up with answers

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.