Stinking Iris seeds

Earlier this year I mentioned a strange plant that the flowers looked like Iris's but I hadn't planted Iris in that spot. It had been growing for a good 12 months then suddenly flowered, Iris like but not as pretty coloured. Yesterday I suddenly noticed these berry like things when I took a closer look today it was the Iris plant that had formed pods that had opened to reveal these seeds. It took a bit of finding but when I did it was no doubt its a Stinking Iris. where it came from I have no idea but as it is grown from bulbs I can only think that squirrel has been planting things.

Apparently the birds love the seeds but it's toxic to humans cats and dogs, so it may have to go.

Tonight's fireworks sounded like a war zone outside. Now when I was playing Classic FM for the animals they were fine and sleeping, when I put the TV on Tanzy was a bit restless but the cat went and sat on the windowsill behind the blind and was happy watching the fireworks over the rooftops, not a care in the world.

This morning that cat climbed the curtain and it came down breaking all the curtain hooks so I took the other down and have washed them, been and bought some new hooks (I think the old ones had denatured) I am going to shorten them as they are floor length and don't really need to be.

After walking the dog and going to the farm shop for cat litter and the village shop for curtain hooks, had Kirsty as a visitor for a couple of hours,  then had late lunch and watched the women's Rugby, you have to feel sorry for Canada as England won 54 to 4.

Remember remember the 5th of November
Gunpowder Treason and Plot.
I see no reason
why gunpowder treason
should ever be forgot.
Guy Fawkes, Guy Fawkes, 'twas his intent
To blow up the King in Parliament
Three score barrels of powder below
Poor old England to overthrow.
By God's providence he was catch'd
with a dark lantern and burning match..
Holler boys, holler boys, let the bells ring
Holler boys, holler boys
God save the King.
John Milton


The traditional Gunpowder Plot poem, Remember, remember the 5th of November, was originally written by John Milton in 1626 at Cambridge University. It celebrates the anniversary of the failed Gunpowder Plot in 1605. It was written in Latin and called 'In Quintum Novembris' which means 'On the Fifth of November'.



Thats it for today folks, good night

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.