A different kind of day!

Where to start...last night at 10:00 pm the power went out.  It was still out this morning. At 9:00 am we decided to go out for coffee, we headed south as the news on phone said most of the storm damage was to the north towards Port Townsend.  We stopped for coffee in Poulsbo.  We drove to Seabeck on the Hood Canal for an outing, hoping the power would be restored while we were out.  I found a road on the map that was quite twisty, but followed the Hood Canal.  We soon left the pavement and were on a gravel road that then narrowed significantly.  We climbed up the side of the mountain using four wheel drive.  The road was quite close to the edge of the mountain, we did meet one other car coming the other way but we managed to get past.  The views of the Hood Canal were outstanding along the way.  As we rounded a corner I saw an owl fly across the road and into a tree!  Husband stopped and I was out of the car and down the road where I was able to get a few photos of the owl.  It was pretty dark back in there as you can tell by the ISO I had to use.  We continued on and finally came down off the mountain and back to civilization.  We stopped 
 in Poulsbo on the way back for a late lunch.  The drive home was also exciting with trees down on the road and hung up on power lines.  We are back at the chilly condo now and have learned that the power maybe out a few days.  We will spend the night and tomorrow morning decide if we need to head home.  For now we have lots of candles lit, books and a glass of wine.  Some cell towers have been damaged so I hope I can post this.  I have already had to be creative with laptop to cell phone hot spot just to get the photo off the camera.  I will not be able to look at your journals until be can charge laptop and phone.  I will try to post a photo of the Hood Canal in the Extra Photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.