hollyyoung

By hollyyoung

Dewy Web

I'm getting an education in Florida heat and humidity.  Its usually much less humid when I'm here.  I went to the Ocala Wetland Recharge Park to walk and photograph the birds.  I was there early, as you can see from the dewy spider's web but by the time I left the park, I was not just dewy but soaking wet.  Yikes!  
The park is in trouble.  All the recharge ponds are drying up.  Some disappeared because of sinkholes and others are choked with water weeds.  They were deep when the park opened and now there are inches of water or none at all.  It has been dry and they are putting in an enormous development right next to the park...doesn't bode well for the future health of the ponds. Gainesville has a recharge park that is in much better shape...or at least I hope it is.  I'll go visit as soon as it cools down a bit.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.