Pictorial blethers

By blethers

An indoors sort of day

I couldn't believe how gloomy it was today when I got up, nor how half-dead I felt. (I used to wonder how it would feel to be old - I reckon an apt description would simply be "tired".) The rain was belting down, so that the thought of waiting at the end of the lane in my black and red leggings and bare feet in clogs really didn't appeal - though the complications of taking my own car to Pilates and then having to rush back to let Himself drive to his class were even less pleasing. 

In the event the rain had actually stopped when it came to leaving the house, so I needn't have fretted. The class was quite busy, and I ended up right in front of the teacher. After years of viewing her side-on, I found this strangely confusing and couldn't decide whether to do mirror-image or exact match when it came to standing on one foot or pivoting round on my toes - I kept finding myself staring at my neighbour instead of someone's back. A good class, though - and despite being exhausted by 30-second elbow planks I felt marginally less ancient when I left. 

That's when I took the photo, on the way to the car-park outside the complex where the studio is. This is Hafton Estate, which originally was only woodland and grassy areas around Hafton House, on the shore of the Holy Loch. I may have mentioned before how over 40 years ago my then bestie and I used to walk through the woods with her wee dog and my wee boy - now it's transformed, with rows and rows of holiday chalets, mobile homes and  strange buildings housing swimming pools, gyms and so on. There's also a restaurant ... I took the photo because of the lovely tree against the cloudy sky, and because it's somewhere that I've never photographed before.

I was inside for the rest of the day, getting ready to go away tomorrow for a few days - a few days of considerable variety so that working out what to wear took longer than it should. (I'm sure Munroist wouldn't have any bothers!) I also did some Italian, trying to familiarise myself with the new format, and did an entire Sudoku online. And then I uploaded a day's worth of holiday photos to Flickr (https://www.flickr.com/photos/goforchris/) and thought about Italy.

It's strangely wild out there tonight - I hope the ferries aren't affected tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.