MidgeholeDave

By MidgeholeDave

The Moor's on Fire - again...

I haven't had a good day travelling today.

Due in Congleton this morning - checked road traffic report - M62 CLOSED - between where I join it, to where I exit it.
Consulted Google, Road Atlas and my local knowledge and mapped out an alternative route to the M60.
I then found out that every lorry in Christendom had chosen the same diversion. This called for thinking 'on the hoof' - and, ignoring my SatNav (that kept trying to get me back into the traffic) - I managed to arrive just 20 mins late.

On my return this evening - all went well (apart from usual rush hour traffic) until I climbed up the A58 out of Littleborough. I could see an awful lot of smoke, which was coming from another grass fire on the moor. Got just past the White House pub and it became very dense smoke. The emergency services were there, tackling the fire, and turning all traffic back to return from whence they had come :-(
Eventually arrived home - more than just a bit fed-up - but a wee glass of medicinal whisky has helped matters :-)

This is a blip of the smoke from the grass fire . I did some blips of the actual fire, but the smoke was so dense you could only just see the flames!

Tomorrow is another day - and I ain't travelling :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.