Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

On Friday I cooked jacket potatoes the traditional way in my electric oven. 
I'm not normally so electrically reckless, but it was a treat. 
On Sunday I turned on the electric immersion heater and had my first hot bath in Bedford just to find out what that actually costs. 
My electricity is Pay As You Go, it has a SmartMeter that I cannot get to work, but at least if I log into my account on my laptop it will tell me how much I've used each day in the past week on a day-by-day basis one day later than real time.
Four jacket potatoes cooked simultaneously required 4kWh, but one tank of hot water required 6kWh.
Before I began this experiment, the Government scattergun handouts had my electricity provider forecasting my credit as lasting for four months without me needing to top it up at all, so it was an experiment I could afford to undertake. I have no doubt that in reality the credit will be gobbled up in the twinkling of an eye.
I hate this Government for its scattergun hippo-poo lazy attitude to everything.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.