Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Orange Bonnet and Snowy Waxcaps

Under a damp log, in the dark, dark wood, I found two tiny Orange Bonnets, the tallest scarcely a centimetre in height. An afternoon Teams meeting meant that I didn't get out till just before sunset, and although many of the leaves have now fallen, it was very gloomy in Thorpe Wood. Nearly all the fungi I found were very small, and by the time I left I could scarcely spot any at all...

Earlier in the day I'd been in the garden gathering grass and dendelions for CJ's Guinea Pigs, when I spotted a small group of Snowy Waxcaps (see extra) in the lawn. This is one of the commonest waxcaps locally, but is usuallly found in fairly diverse grassland on nutrient-poor soils. Perhaps, after many years of removing the cuttings from our lawn, it's going to develop a richer fungal flora.

Other parts of the day were spent in exhibition preparations. More printing and mounting of photographs, preparation of a risk assessment for the event and baking gingerbread as part of the refreshments we're providing. It's not something I make often, but the cake batter tasted good and it smelt wonderful when it came out of the oven. It's all wrapped up now so that it doesn't mysteriously disappear!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.