Windmill 'Johanna', Culemborg

Built in 1888, massively renovated in 1993, named after the wife, daughter, and daughter-in-law of the previous owner.
'Culemborg' almost sounds like 'Cue-lum-borg'.  Almost.

Culemborg has two windmills and I wanted to go look for the other one, and it wasn't far away from this one, but, believe it or not, by the time I got there, all the blue that can be seen here had turned into a discouraging grey.  As I had already been gravitating towards a similar mood, I gave up and left the area.

Went to work, worked, ...went on the hunt..., went back home.  It was yet another good day, but a day can be made up of more parts, and thinking of two things made me tired.  One was the case.  I received documents from the Viking for something new we will be doing again.  I have to print them out here, have them notarized, and then drive to the embassy to have them apostilled there, same as last time.  I had to move the online meeting with the employment agency for tomorrow morning to the afternoon, which wasn't a problem, but the idea of having to go through that again was the second thing that tired me out, mainly because I feel I'm back on Square One -- again, there is no guarantee I'll get the position, so what am I doing it for.  No matter, nothing to be done, I'll enjoy my final weeks at work.  Can't imagine I would ever feel so positive about a workplace and a boss.  Good things might not last but they are to be celebrated while they're going on, no?

I did not bring my camera with me as the day began with a lot of clouds, and I thought I'd just celebrate my 10 years here by going out for dessert in the evening.  When I was done with work, though, the sun was out, the sky very promising, and I had a lot of time.  Not wishing to waste it, I didn't go home first to pick up the camera, which on hindsight I should have done, as there were some panoramic possibilities at the site.  Thankful now for a good mobile phone camera.  The sight of the windmill did me a lot of good.  There's an extra!

I had already renewed my subscription last 01 November, and today marks my 10th year here.  On the REAL anniversary, which falls on the end of this month, I might go for that dessert.

A huge THANK YOU to you all for dropping by occasionally with gifts.  I have become less social through the years, so I simply post my daily shot and try to keep track of what I do.  You have been very patient with all your comments, stars, hearts, and with all the encouragement and pats on the shoulder.  Never thought I'd stick it out that long as I seem to be lacking in consistency at times.  Thank you for having made my stay here memorable.

PS.  Some of you have no idea what I look like, so I've changed my avatar.  After 10 years, I suppose it would be okay to do that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.