Marsupium Photography

By magi

waiting

Finally, an autumnal day with some rain. Westhafen was quite busy this morning. Work at CVK. Today's task was to help a user. Their request was sensible enough but it turned into quite a can of worms. I guess that is what I am paid to do.

I had various issues with yesterday's blip. I got a wee GPS receiver gadget for the Nikon 1 which is now well old (as far as gadgets are concerned). The GPS works well enough. However, I was puzzled when I had to set the location on blip. I then tried to find the image on my phone to check what was going on. I couldn't find it and I couldn't figure out what was going on. annejohn very helpfully pointed out that the date was set to 25th of March 2003. That's why I couldn't find it. That's 7168 days or 1024 weeks out. The firmware of the GPS gadget wasn't aware of the GPS rollover in 2019. The fix is to set the date and time of the camera manually rather than using GPS time. The other puzzled remained - what happened to the GPS tags? Turns out that snapseed blanks the GPS tags, presumably for privacy reasons with no option to override it. Ah well, back to downloading photos to my computer and editing them there. In many ways it is better as I can deal with the tags, plus the transfer over USB is much quicker.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.