Boy Meets Girl

I'm almost reluctant to state the fact, because I know that not all parts of the British Isles have been so lucky, but it's been a beautiful day here, warm enough to be called a proper summer's day even. I cycled to and from work in shorts and sleeveless shirt, book-ending a reasonably productive day at the office. I think the highlight of the day, though, was simply taking a wander around town and along the canal at lunchtime, soaking up the warmth at leisure.

It seems so very much easier to engage with people when they're not covered up in heavy coats and gloves and furry hats. The greatest pleasure today was seeing people sauntering about in light summer clothing. Without that thick layer of winter protection I think we are all more open to engagement. I certainly felt that way, wandering about in shorts and T-shirt. From the photographer's point of view there is also so much more to see. The theatre of street life is simply far more expansive in the summer, as activity moves from inside to outside, with perhaps a corresponding lack of inhibition.

As for the blip, I felt like a visual eavesdropper here but it's simply a timeless scene. I watched this boy and girl for a little while, unnoticed from a bridge, taking pleasure from their interaction with each other. You can each make up a story of your own - which I think is the joy of this kind of candid street photography.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.