Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Point and shoot

This afternoon I've been preparing a talk that I'm giving tonight on my decade-long fixed point photography project on Chailey Commons LNR. The aim of the project was to document changes in the landscape and habitat following the fencing of the commons and the re-introduction of grazing. The countryside rangers chose 36 fixed points and I was asked to photograph each one in January and August every year. I've done that  for ten years and I now have a library of 720 photographs which tell the story of what has happened to this SSSI reserve over that time. Now that I'm leaving Sussex the project will probably come to an end but I'm hoping that my talk might inspire someone else to take it on. The pair of images here is one of the points ten years apart. In the first year there were bog asphodels and rounded-headed sundews in this boggy area. Now, its a reduced to a dried out birch scrub. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.